What is a district?

Scouting in the UK is run by the Scout Association (world link) is organised into countries (England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland) which are subdivided into Counties (or Areas in Wales and Scotland).

Each county is further divided into districts. Reigate District is a scout district in Surrey County (world link).

The other Districts in Surrey are: Banstead, Caterham, Dorking, East Surrey, Epsom & Ewell, Esher, Farnham, Godalming, Guildford West, Guildford East, Haslemere, Leatherhead, Runnymede, Spelthorn, Surrey Heath, Walton & Weybridge and Woking.


How are you organised?

Reigate District is a UK charity registered with the Charity Commission (world link) No 1140186

Because of this we are organised with a traditional ruling executive committee featuring Chair, Secretary and Treasurer and hold AGMs and other meetings on a regular basis.

In additional to the committee, there is leadership organisational structure with a District Commissioner overseeing a team of Assistant Commissioners, usually with one for each age section plus others for specific posts.


Who runs the section meetings?

Within the district there are a number of groups, each group runs sections to serve the young people and communities in their own area. The groups and sections are overseen by the District Commissioner and Assistants, but day to day running of meetings is undertaken by leaders within the groups.